IND vs NZ 3rd T20 REPORT: India remain victorious in an exciting encounter
Match Reports

IND vs NZ 3rd T20 REPORT: India remain victorious in an exciting encounter

IND vs NZ 3rd T20 REPORT: India remain victorious in an exciting encounter

Thanks to the glorious and disciplined bowling of the bowlers led by Jasprit Bumrah, India defeated New Zealand by 6 runs in the third and decisive T20 match. Due to rain it was a curtailed 8-over match.India scored 67 runs in those 8 overs.In front of a challenging target of 68 runs, Kiwi team could only manage 61 runs by losing 6 wickets. With this win, India won the three-match series 2-1 and won a T20 series against New Zealand for the first time.

Under the leadership of Captain Kohli, in the first T20 series in Delhi, India defeated New Zealand for the first time after 10 years and five matches.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar got Martin Guptill (1 run) clean bowled and brought the first success of the team on the final ball of the first over. In the next over, Bumrah forced the agressive Colin Munro to hit a cross batted pul shot which went straight into the hands of Rohit Sharma. Rohit ran back and took a great catch .

IND vs NZ 3rd T20 REPORT: India remain victorious in an exciting encounter

Captain Kaine Williamson (8) returned to the pavilion after being run out in an attempt to push the innings forward. Hardik Pandya made a direct hit from mid-on and showed the Kiwi captain,the path to the Pavillion pavilion. Kuldeep took the wicket of dangerous Glenn Phillips (11) in the very  next ball.Shikhar Dhawan took the catch on the boundary.

In the crucial sixth over of the innings, Yuzevendra Chahal strengthened India’s grip on the match by giving away just three runs. Amidst the pressure of the continuous increasing requirred run rate, Nicholas lost his wicket on Bumrah’s ball while trying to hit it for a six.

New Zealand needed 19 runs in the final over but Hardik Pandya just gave away 12 runs. On behalf of India, Bumrah took two wickets in two overs, Bhuvneshwar and Chahal took one wicket each.

India scored 67 runs

Earlier, batting first after losing the toss, Team India set a target of 68 runs for the Kiwi’s to win . In the match,delayed by two and a half hours due to rain, the Indian team scored 67 runs in the eight overs, losing five wickets.

For India Manish Pandey made the highest score of 17 runs. While Hardik Pandya scored 14 not out.

Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma added 14 runs in the two over powerplays. But after that both the batsmen returned to pavilion on Tim Southee’s two consecutive balls. After Dhawan scored 6 runs, he was caught on the covers by Santner. On the very next ball, Rohit Sharma (8) also attempted to play a pull shot, which went straight into the hands of deep square leg.

India needed to up the ante and  captain Virat Kohli also played two good shots, but after making 13 runs in 6 balls, once again, he became the victim of Sodhi. Sodhi sent Shreyas Iyer (6 ball 6) in the next over to give India a fourth blow  In the last over, Grandhomme sent well set Manish Pandey back to the pavillion with a super catch.

In the last two overs, India lost just one wicket and scored 17 runs. On behalf of New Zealand, Southee and Sodhi took two wickets each while Boult picked up one.

IND vs NZ 3rd T20 REPORT: India remain victorious in an exciting encounter

Toss Report

In the third and final T20 match, New Zealand decided to bowl first after winning the toss against India. Toss was delayed due to rain and wet outfield. Rain had arrived before the match and due to this, the toss could not be done on time due to wet outfield. But  meanwhile, the rain knocked again, which further delayed the proceedings.

Due to delays in match, the number of overs was reduced to eight. Four bowlers can bowl two overs.

The Kiwi team made a change in this match. Instead of chosing Adam Milne, they gave Tim Southee a place in the playing XI. At the same time, the Indian team made two changes. Manish Pandey and Kuldeep Yadav in place of Mohammed Siraj and Axar Patel.



India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Yuzevendra Chahal, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav

New Zealand: Kaine Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tom Bruce, Glenn Philips (wicketkeeper), Henri Nicholas, Colin de Grandhome, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult and Ish Sodhi.

Passionate football and cricket content writer.Crazy about cricket and football.A big Barcaelona and Team India Fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *