WATCH: Ravindra Jadeja picks up MATHEWS on a no-ball!!


Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja who turned 29 on Wednesday, seemed to recieved a birthday gift unknowingly from on-field umpire Joel Wilson, who failed to spot him overstepping the line before taking the priced wicked of first innings centurion Angelo Matthews on the final day of the last match between India and Sri Lanka at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi.

Coming into the day with an overnight score of 31/3, the visitors would have hoped for their overnight batsmen Angelo Mathews and Dhananjaya de Silva to give the hosts a resilient fight but it was not to be as Mathews’ stay at the crease was cut short by a tossed up delivery just wide of the sumps from left arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja. Mathews failed to read the awkward bounce and turn and ended up edging the ball to Ajinkya Rahane who was waiting at first slip. The dismissal was nicely set up by the left armer by bowling the previous few deliveries in line with the stumps and then tossing one wide forcing the batsman to play at it and get the all important edge. Replays on the big screen however showed clearly that Jadeja had overstepped and the on-field umpire Joel Wilson had failed to spot the no-ball and had not even stopped the batsman to have it referred to the third umpire.
ALSO READ-Why are 9 Sri Lankan players not coming to India for ODI’s ?
Jadeja got a wicket off a no-ball not just once but twice as he almost managed to take the wicket of Sri Lankan skipper Dinesh Chandimal in the 44th over of Sri Lanka’s innings but the decision was reversed as the bowler had overstepped that time as well. Chandimal’s wicket at that point of time could have been vital in strenthening India’s cause of winning the test match.

Jadeja’s overstepping problem has been prevalent in recent times and in the Nagpur test match as well, he got the wicket of Dimuth Karunaratne which was overturned because of the ball being a no-ball. A No ball from a spinner is considered a crime as they do not have to take a long run up before delivering the ball. Jadeja has been doing it time and time. You really just can’t repeat the same mistake again and again. The coach and the team management should really work on this including a captain.

Here is the video clip of the dismissal of Mathews off the now ball :



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here