ICC announces ODI team of the year


The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday announced the test and ODI teams for the year 2017, an elite list featuring some of the greats of the mordern day game. The ODI team of the year also features three Indians in the list with Indian skipper Virat Kohli named as the captain of both the ODI and the test teams of the year. This is the 4th time he has featured in the ICC ODI team of the year after 2012, 2014 and 2016.

Kohli has had a phenomenal run with the bat across all formats and his numbers to go with the terrific run of form as captain in the year 2017 saw him being bestowed with the honor of captaining the ODI team of the year. The Indian skipper bagged 2203 Test runs at an average of 77.80, with 8 centuries under his name,1818 ODI runs at an average of 82.63, which includes 7 hundreds and 299 T20I runs at a strike rate of 153. He amassed 1460 runs in 2017 in the year 2017 which the 4th highest by any batsman in a calendar year.

Apart from Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah also managed to make it to the ODI team courtesy of their spectacular performances in the limited over format over the bilateral series played at home against various teams touring the subcontinent. Rohit Sharma has 1416 runs from 26 games in 2017 at an average of 61.56, also including 6 ODI hundreds and a double hundred against the Sri Lankans. He also broke the record for the most number of sixes hit in a calender year surpassing South Africa’s AB De Villiers. Jasprit Bumrah, on the other hand has picked up 45 wickets from 27 matches at an average of 25.68 also including a fifer.

Here are the others members making it to the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year :

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2017: Dean Elgar, David Warner, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ben Stokes, Quinton de Kock (wk), R Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, James Anderson.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here