BCCI announces list of 16 marquee players for IPL 2018 Auctions


The much awaited auction for the 2018 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is all set to be held in Bengaluru on January 27 and 28. 1122 players had earlier registered themselves for the auction and the BCCI on Saturday announced a list of 578 players who would be going under the hammer on the day of auction. The list include 360 Indians in total and with the maximum size of each franchise set to 25 players, a maximum of 182 players remain to be traded on the auction day.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) also announced a list of 16 marquee players with the base price of each set to a whopping amount of INR 2 crores. This list features the likes of  Ravichandran Ashwin, Gautam Gambhir, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Harbhajan Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Chris Gayle, Ben Stokes, Kane Williamson, Glenn Maxwell, Joe Root, Mitchell Starc, Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard and Shakib Hasan. There are 36 players in total, with 23 foreigners and 13 Indians set with a base price of INR 2 crores, 32 players under the INR 1.5 crore category and 31 in the INR 1 crore category.

The other Indian players in the INR 2 crore category are Yuzvendra Chahal, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa and Karn Sharma while the foreign players in the INR 2 crore category include  Chris Lynn, Mitchell Starc, Corey Andersen, Angelo Mathew, Faf du Plessis, Brendon McCullum, Pat Cummins and many others. The franchises would be looking to invest their budget wisely and fill their squad with maximum strength considering the player limit for the auction.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here